ED 677 Spring ’18 Week 7 #F5F

  1. So the best example that I have this week is to recount my tale about my exploits with Windows Essentials. I have made multiple Youtube clips where I have recorded my voice using Audacity.  Now, between having a baby and taking other classes not focused on academic technology directly, I have not had a chance to do continue making those audio clips.  So it was with great surprise when I found out that Windows Essentials, a tool that I used to convert the Audacity recordings to Youtube clips was is no longer supported by Windows 10.  But a favorite saying of me is very appropriate right now… Sometimes the cobblers children go shoeless… I think it is only right that in a connected learning class, with open ended outcomes-unforeseen circumstances will occur.  While I overcome the adversity and created a recording, it still was important to recognize that even I as tech professional can experience technology issues.
  2. I started reading up on the textbook that we will be using throughout the course of rest of the semester and I am interested in this Creative Commons license.  When reading about this license, I realized what an almost perfect example of connected learning in action.  Specifically, what drew my attention was the tagline “Adapt: remix, transform, and build upon the material for any purpose, even commercially.”  This concept, of being able to remix and incorporate ideas or “memes” is an application of the networking concepts within connected learning.
  3. I guess in this class; I really love going down rabbit holes on our topics. One instrument that was mentioned this week included the Teaching Channel.  For me, I think it is really awesome how there are these different instruments for teachers to remain connected.  I mean, I am not really surprised, but it is cool to be reminded that these networks exist.
  4. This is another example of the material that was presented this week. What I liked about the DML center was their association with the MacArthur foundation.  From my partnership with WHYY, I am familiar with the MacArthur foundation.  I love it when new things that I learn about include other aspects with which I am passionate about.
  5. Last but not least… (I got this post from one of my classmates)… In the name of interests, I selected this news article describing the West Virginia Teacher strike. As the fourth generation of a Union family, I believe strongly in labor participation.  Actually, I am starting a new job at Kutztown University this Monday, which I will be part of AFSCME.  I like this article from the Huffington Post, because it is a reminder that demonstrates the positive aspects of Teachers and their union participation.  While these teachers are fighting for their equality and standard of living, they made sure that their students were not to impacted.

Leave a comment